Cultural Tuesday

Pierogi Ruskie

The choice for ‘Cultural Tuesday’ was easily made for me this week. As I am half polish I decided to cook the most well known Polish dish for you guys; Pierogi! From when I was 4 years old, I traveled every year to Poland to see my grandparents. As Polish people are very hospital and crazy about food, I never had to worry that I would get hungry. My babcia (grandma) always made sure she had enough food and 6 different options to cook for me at any time of the day. Of all the food she cooked for me, pierogi’s were definitely my favorite. Together we sometimes cooked pierogi with freshly picked fruit from the yard. Pierogi’s can be filled with all sorts of filling. It varies from meat and potatoes to sweet stuffing like apple or blueberries. Today I cooked Pierogi Ruskie with potatoes and cheese filling, as I was very hungry and was looking for something that would get me through the evening without getting hungry again. I was very excited as this was my first time making pierogi’s all by myself, so let’s take a look at how I did!

schermafbeelding-2016-10-17-om-18-45-07


INGREDIENTS (serves 2):

Pierogi:

  • 250 g of (spelt)flour
  • 100 ml lukewarm water
  • 1 egg
  • A pinch of salt

Filling:

  • 150 g Twaróg (polish white cheese) or cottage cheese
  • 200 g peeled potatoes
  • pepper and salt
  • Extra: sour cream
  • Onion

 

STEPS:

Step 1: Boil the potatoes until they are done
Step 2: When they are done, put they into a bowl and mash them till it forms a puree. Add the while cheese and mix it together. Season it with some salt and pepper.
Step 3: Put the flour into another bowl. Break the egg in the bowl and add some salt.
Step 4: Slowly add lukewarm water while mixing it together with your hands. Knead it into a dough ball.
Step 5: Put a bit of flour on your kitchen counter and roll the douch out with a rolling pin into a thin sheet.
Step 6: Use something round like a glass to cut circles out of the dough. Take the remaining of the douch, form them into a ball and roll it out again. Keep doing this until you have used up all of the dough.
Step 7: Put a tbsp of the potato-cheese mix in the middle of one of the dough circles. Brush some water on the edges and fold the circle in half. Press the sides together with a fork or your fingers. Repeat this for all the circles.
Step 8: Fill a pan with water and salt and make sure it boils.
Step 9: Boil the pierogi in the water for 3-5 minutes. When they are done, they will come floating to the surface. In the mean while stir fry some onion to serve with the pierogis.
Step 10: Serve the pierogis. If you want, you can put some sour cream on the side or other herbs.

schermafbeelding-2016-10-17-om-18-43-38

I hope you will enjoy the pierogis as much as I always do.
Smacznego!! 

Leave a Reply

