Low Budget

Sweet Rice

Hi choppers!

For today’s low budget recipe I decided to go for something that my mom always made when my dad had to work late. It brings back fun memories because I loved that it felt like some kind of secret. It was just like getting mc donalds or ordering pizza, as it is not necessarily healthy. My dad always found it important to have healthy meals (and that is important of course!), but once in a while we did have this little cheat meal. It is very sweet and probably not an ordinary meal to eat for dinner. Still I like to share this recipe, because it is precious to me and makes me think of the old days when I still lived at my parents’ place. And even better, it’s cheap!

img_1323

Ingredients (serves 1):

  •  1/2 Elstar apple                      €0,25
  • 100 g Dessert rice                  €1,09
  • 1 sachet vanilla sugar           €0,63
  • 75 g Raisins                                €0,99

This will give you a total of €2,96

Steps:

Step 1: Boil some water and add the dessert rice to the water. Let it cook for 12 minutes in total
Step 2: In the meantime chop the apple in small pieces (about 1 by 1 cm)
Step 3: When the rice has cooked for about 10 minutes, add the apple and raisins and let it cook with the rice for the remaining time.
Step 4: Before you serve it, add the vanilla sugar to the rice and mix it.

img_1321

And your done! Hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I do, bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

